Minnesota County Selection List

Watch for updated county pages! Counties listed with an adoption graphic could use your help,
if you are interested, please take a look at the how to adopt a county page
and contact Tim Stowell to volunteer.


Established Site Available for Adoption

(See Extinct MN Counties)

County Date Formed Parent County County Seat Contact
Aitkin 1857 Cass, Itasca Aitkin adopt me
Anoka 1857 Ramsey Anoka MaryAlice Schwanke
Becker 1858 Indian Lands Detroit Lakes Karen De Groote
Beltrami 1866 Unorganized Territory. Bemidji adopt me
Benton 1849 Original County Foley adopt me
Big Stone 1862 Pierce Ortonville adopt me
Blue Earth 1853 Unorganized Territory Mankato Martha Crosley Graham
Brown 1855 Nicollett, Blue Earth New Ulm Martha Crosley Graham
Carlton 1857 Pine, St. Louis Carlton adopt me
Carver 1855 Hennepin Chaska Randy Cummings
Cass 1851 Original County Walker Norma Hass
Chippewa 1862 Pierce Montevideo adopt me
Chisago 1851 Washington Center City Tim Stowell
Clay 1862 Formerly Breckenridge Moorhead adopt me
Clearwater 1902 Beltrami Bagley adopt me
Cook 1874 Lake Grand Marais Linda Simpson
Cottonwood 1857 Brown Windom Martha Crosley Graham
Crow Wing 1857 Ramsey, Cass Brainerd John Van Essen
Dakota 1849 Original county Hastings adopt me
Dodge 1855 Olmsted Mantorville adopt me
Douglas 1858 Todd Alexandria adopt me
Faribault 1855 Blue Earth Blue Earth Martha Crosley Graham
Fillmore 1853 Wabasha Preston adopt me
Freeborn 1855 Wabasha Albert Lea Martha Crosley Graham
Goodhue 1853 Wabasha Red Wing adopt me
Grant 1868 Stearns Elbow Lake adopt me
Hennepin 1852 Dakota Minneapolis Martha Crosley Graham
Houston 1854 Fillmore Caledonia adopt me
Hubbard 1883 Cass Park Rapids MaryAlice Schwanke
Isanti 1857 Anoka Cambridge MaryAlice Schwanke
Itasca 1849 Original County Grand Rapids MaryAlice Schwanke
Jackson 1857 Unorg. Terr Jackson Randy Wendel
Kanabec 1858 Pine Mora adopt me
Kandiyohi 1858 Meeker Willmar adopt me
Kittson 1878 Unorg. Terr. - formerly Pembina Hallock adopt me
Koochiching 1906 Itasca International Falls Linda Simpson
Lac Qui Parle 1871 Brown, Redwood Madison Tim Stowell
Lake 1856 Formerly Doty Two Harbors Linda Simpson
Lake of the Woods 1922 Beltrami Baudette adopt me
Le Sueur 1853 Unorg. Terr. Le Center adopt me
Lincoln 1873 Lyon Ivanhoe adopt me
Lyon 1868 Redwood Marshall adopt me
McLeod 1856 Carver Glencoe adopt me
Mahnomen 1906 Becker, Norman Mahnomen adopt me
Marshall 1879 Kittson Warren adopt me
Martin 1857 Faribault, Brown Fairmont adopt me
Meeker 1856 Wright, Stearns Litchfield Joy Fisher
Mille Lacs 1857 Kanabec Milaca adopt me
Morrison 1856 Benton, Stearns Little Falls adopt me
Mower 1855 Fillmore, Freeborn Austin Janet Stephenson - CC
Mark Ashley - Asst. CC
Murray 1857 Lyon Slayton Char Larson
Nicollet 1853 Unorg. territory St. Peter adopt me
Nobles 1857 Jackson Worthington Bryant Walker
Norman 1881 Polk Ada Colleen Goltz
Olmsted 1855 Unorg. Territory Rochester adopt me
Otter Tail 1858 Pembina, Cass Fergus Falls Karen de Groote
Pennington 1910 Red Lake Thief River Falls Lynn Brandvold
Pine 1856 Unorg. Lands Pine City adopt me
Pipestone 1857 Murray Pipestone adopt me
Polk 1858 Indian Lands Crookston Jo Paulson
Pope 1862 Pierce Glenwood Keith Gulsvig
Ramsey 1849 Original county St. Paul Tim Stowell
Red Lake 1896 Polk Red Lake Falls Lynn Brandvold
Redwood 1862 Brown Redwood Falls Barb Buchner
Renville 1855 Unorg. Territory Olivia adopt me
Rice 1853 Original County Faribault adopt me
Rock 1857 Nobles as Unorg. Co. Brown Luverne Lin Ziemann
Roseau 1894 Kittson Roseau adopt me
St. Louis 1855 Doty (now Lake) Duluth Martha Crosley Graham
Scott 1853 Dakota Shakopee Karen De Groote
Sherburne 1856 Benton Elk River Ann Hammer
Sibley 1853 Unorg. Territory Gaylord adopt me
Stearns 1855 Indian Lands St. Cloud Karen De Groote
Steele 1855 Unorg. Terr., Dodge Owatonna Martha Crosley Graham
Stevens 1862 Pierce, Big Stone Morris adopt me
Swift 1870 Chippewa, Unorg. Lands Benson adopt me
Todd 1855 Stearns Long Prairie Karen De Groote
Traverse 1862 Toombs Wheaton Tim Stowell
Wabasha 1849 Original county Wabasha Kelly Taschler
Wadena 1858 Cass, Todd Wadena John Schulte
new CC - 11 Mar 2024
Waseca 1857 Steele Waseca Randy Cummings
Washington 1849 Original county Stillwater Gayle Triller
Watonwan 1860 Brown St. James Martha Crosley Graham
Wilkin 1868 Cass, Toombs, Johnson Breckenridge Tim Stowell
Winona 1854 Unorg. Territory Winona adopt me
Wright 1855 Hennepin Buffalo adopt me
Yellow Medicine 1871 Redwood Granite Falls Tim Stowell

Return to MNGenWeb

This page was last updated 8 Apr 2024